In these times, there is no one who has not heard of the vegetarian diet and its myths or truths. It is increasingly common to meet people who, for very different reasons, whether nutritional, ethical, religious or health, have asked themselves: “How do I start to be a vegetarian?”.

In this article  we will discover what vegetarianism is, the different types that exist, how to start being it, what foods can or cannot be eaten, the health benefits of this way of eating and some recipes to follow a vegetarian diet of the most original. If you want to learn some tips to start being a vegetarian , read on!

What is vegetarianism? – First find out

For whatever reason you have decided to know how to be a vegetarian and not die trying, the first thing you should do first of all is inform yourself well about this type of nutritional diet to know what it is based on, what it implies, what benefits contributes to our organism and what foods you can or cannot eat from now on if you do it consciously.

Vegetarianism is a nutritional practice that is based on avoiding eating any type of animal meat (including fish and poultry). Although it is true that the majority of people who decide to follow this diet do so to improve their health, there is also a moral and philosophical component of non-exploitation of animals and aid to the environment that makes starting vegetarianism easier, more productive. and, above all, sustainable for planet Earth.

The word “vegetarianism” comes from 1842, the year the British Vegetarian Society was founded in England, which was the first vegetarian association in the world to coin this term when the references to “vegetable diet” or “diet without meat” were found to be inadequate that were used until then. This word derives from the Latin vegetus and, contrary to what one might think logically, it means “complete, healthy, fresh or lively” , and not “the one who eats vegetables” as many believe. With this, English vegetarians wanted to refer not only to the use of vegetables in the diet but also to the moral and ethical component of this lifestyle.

Types of vegetarianism – Decide yours

There are several types of profiles depending on the foods that are included in the vegetarian diet, but the common denominator remains the same: the non-intake of any type of animal meat. This classification is based on the degree of rigor with which vegetarians decide to eat more or less products with ingredients of animal origin in their composition:

Ovovegetarianism : it is a type of vegetarian diet in which eggs (from any bird) are consumed, but not dairy or honey.

Lacteovegetarianism : on the other hand, this type does consume dairy products such as milk, yogurt or cheese, but not eggs or honey.

Ovolacteovegetarianism : groups the 2 above, being able to eat both eggs and dairy but not honey.

Apivegetarianism : yes, honey is consumed but not dairy or eggs.

Apiovolacteovegetarismo : if all 3 foods are consumed at once (honey, eggs and dairy) the vegetarian diet will be of this type.

Veganism : it is a type of nutritional practice in which no food is consumed that contains ingredients of animal origin in its composition, without exception. But more than a type of diet, it is a lifestyle that undertakes, for ethical and moral reasons, not to use animals in any way for our own purposes, with which, it also applies to other aspects. everyday such as clothing, footwear or furniture and household items.

Raw food : here only uncooked food is eaten, that is, raw, be it vegetables, fruits, seeds, nuts or cereals. At most a food can be cooked up to 40 ┬░ C so that they do not lose their natural properties. All the modalities mentioned above can be raw.

Frugivorismo : only fruits are consumed in all their varieties, especially in season.

Flexitarianism or flexivegetarianism : refers to a recent trend that emerged a few years ago based on a vegetarian diet combined occasionally and / or opportunistically with the intake of some animal product, but always maintaining a much higher percentage of vegetarian foods.